I’ve looked and looked but can’t find a picture that is quite what I want to post.  My hair has gotten quite long-at least, long for me.  It’s almost at the base of my neck.  It’s colored-of course-a pretty medium brunette with some gold highlights.  Now, I’ve worn short spiky-ish hair for a number of years and decided it was time for a change…again.  I’ve tried to let my hair grow a dozen times, get disgusted, get it cut and love the spiky do all over again.  But I’m afraid of clinging to it too long.  Now that I’ve switched it up a bit, the hub tells me he hates it.  He loves the short, sassy, reddish colored do that I’ve had since he met me.  What’s a girl to do?

I know a lot of women have their femininity tied up in their hair.  I know that some days a good hair day can brighten an otherwise crappy day-but here’s the thing-it’s just hair.  I say that as a woman who has never faced a serious illness that would cause me to lose my hair-but I have had some medical issues that caused me to shed quite a bit.

Don’t be scared to change it up.  If you are wearing the same hair that you had in high school…and you are over the age of 25-it might be time for a change.  Bangs, a ponytail, a new color-OR if you can-let that gray shine through.  If I knew that my hair was going to turn that absolutely gorgeous silver color if I stopped coloring, I’d do it tomorrow.  Unfortunately, my hair will go thru an extremely dirty, muddy look before it ever gets close to having enough gray.

My daughter recently cut her hair short-Anne Hathaway in Les Miserables short-and my husband loves it on her-so much so that he is encouraging me to go that short.  I’m not scared of short, but I think I’ll hang on to what I have just a little bit longer.

XXOOXOXOXOXOXO

