I had a great idea a couple of days ago-something that would have fit in this blog perfectly.  And I forgot it.  Blame it on old age, blame it on a head injury, in the words of Milli Vanilli, blame it on the rain.  If you held a loaded potato to my head I couldn’t tell you what I wanted to write.  So as not to fall out of the habit of blogging, today I am going to talk to you about some simple things to do to make you feel better about your appearance-not just pretty, but things that you need to do.

Wash your face at night.  I’m a big proponent of face washing.  You don’t need to use Ajax.  Use something gentle.  For most of us, the face we have is the face we keep-unless you’re Joan Rivers.  If you have dry skin, use a moisturizing cleanser.  If you have oily skin, use an oil free cleanser.   If you have combination skin, well, you get the picture.  I use face wipes from WalMart and a gentle cleanser.

Exfoliate.  I can not tell you how happy your little face will be if you exfoliate once a week.  Think about the dead skin that sits on your face.  You wash it.  You moisturize it.  You put makeup on it.  Stop wasting time on dead skin cells.   Use a gentle exfoliator.  I highly recommend Clarins.  A little pricey, but very gentle and AWESOME.  Don’t use anything with nut shells or fruit pits.  The fruit acids are good, but the particles in these scrubs are very harsh on your skin and can cause micro-abrasions.

Sunscreen.  Period.  You probably know as much or more about the benefits of sunscreen as I do.  It is sooooo important to protect your skin.  I don’t care if your skin is black, brown, white, or another shade-we all need sunscreen.  Not only does it help protect our skin from cancer and the environment (free radicals, etc) it also helps to keep us from looking like old leather bags.  Unless thats your thing.  If so, moisturize that bag.  Wear a hat and big sunglasses.  Be mysterious or at least pretent to be.

Speaking of moisturizing….please do.  Add a little moisturizer to your skin while it is still damp after cleansing.  The moisture on your skin will be more readily absorbed and it’s good for you.  Heck do double duty and save yourself some money and use a combination moisturizer/sunscreen (in the mornings).  I’m a fan of looking fabulous so I use a moisturizing agent in the morning and the evenings.

Go crazy-use an eye cream.  The skin around your eyes is very thin.  Use a good cream if you dare-or if you are a purist, your moisturizer can work twice as hard.

Exfoliate your lips.  A little sugar and a little water and then scrub gently.  Apply your favorite lip potion afterward.  Don’t forget the sunscreen on your lips when you are outside!

Give yourself a manicure and pedicure.  Don’t forget to massage your feet and hands.  They do a lot of work and don’t get a lot of recognition.  Give them some love and a nice pink polish…or green. Whatever makes you happy.

Get a good haircut.  Invest in a good haircut and then go to a less expensive stylist to keep it trimmed.  If color is your thing do it!  I’ve been a blonde, a brunette, and a redhead and I rocked all three!  Use a glaze in between to help keep your color looking fresh and use a shampoo/conditioner for colored hair.  If you are going to take the time to make it look fabulous, keep it fabulous.

Take a daily vitamin.  Get plenty of rest.

Picked up my jacket, dress, coat, and shirt from the alterations shop today so I will be posting some pics soon.  Today, I’ll leave you with one from my travels to have lunch with the husband.   More often than not at home he sees me in tshirts and shorts.  I have to spice it up when we have a date.  Gotta keep him interested…XOXOXO   (I forgot so I’m adding a sort of postscript.  Earrings are Lia Sophia)

Lunch date

